Posted by: haggertylibrary | November 17, 2016

National Book Award Winners

Colson Whitehead image from

The National Book Awards were announced last night, and Colson Whitehead’s The Underground Railroad won for fiction. This novel about an actual railroad whisking slaves away to freedom was one of three pointedly race-related winners this year. (Also see a previous post about the Man Booker prize winner, The Sellout.)

Other winners included Ibram X. Kendi, in non-fiction, for Stamped from the Beginning: The Definitive History of Racist Ideas in America, Daniel Borzutzky, in poetry, for The Performance of Becoming Human, and for Young People’s Literature, John Lewis, Andrew Aydin, and Nate Powell (Artist), for March: Book Three, a graphic novel.

Haggerty Library will work on getting these winners (and some finalists) into the collection very soon!


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s


%d bloggers like this: